We Are Changing Our Name!

November 5, 2015

We are changing our name!

As part of the Annual General Meeting on October 5th, the membership ratified a name change to better reflect the growth of CIM in Manitoba.

The Canadian Institute of Management – Winnipeg Branch is now the Canadian Institute of Management – Manitoba Chapter!

Our geographic area of responsibility for CIM is for the province of Manitoba, so the name change will better reflect this as we develop strategic partnerships with the Human Resource Management Association of Manitoba and Winnipeg Chamber of Commerce, as well as enhance our marketing to the business community throughout Manitoba.

We should all be proud of Manitoba as the largest chapter in the Canadian Institute of Management and continue to work hard at growing the CIM brand in Manitoba.

In the near future we will be making some changes to our website and contact information. Stay tuned…

Thank you,

Dennie Cormack BA, C.I.M.

Vice-President of Marketing and Communications

CIM Manitoba Chapter 2015 Annual General Meeting & Member Appreciation Event

November 5, 2015

CIM Manitoba Chapter 2015 Annual General Meeting & Member Appreciation Event
by Louise Doberstein, C.I.M.

On Monday October 5th, 2015, the CIM Winnipeg Chapter hosted its joint Annual General Meeting and Member Appreciation night. This year, 38 members and guests for a total of 50 were in attendance. During the AGM, it was voted that the CIM Winnipeg Chapter incur a name change to encompass all of Manitoba. Going forward, we are now the CIM Manitoba Inc. Chapter. The event was held at Inn at the Forks, to honour this year’s recipients of the PRAISE, PRIME, George Smith Communications Awards just to name a few.

George Smith Communications Award

The George Smith Communications Award is presented annually to the student who attains the highest mark in the Canadian Institute of Management’s communication class for the current year.

Louise Doberstein and George Smith presented the George Smith Communications Award to this year’s deserving recipient, Susanne Dankwart.


Congratulations Susanne on this achievement!

Martin J. Lyons P.R.I.M.E. Business Award

The CIM Professional Recognition for Innovation & Management Excellence Award recognizes the general management achievements of an organization located in Manitoba. This year, two organizations were presented this prestigious award: Boeing Canada, Winnipeg and The University of Manitoba.


Jan Tannant accepted the 2015 CIM Winnipeg P.R.I.M.E. Award on behalf of Boeing Canada, Winnipeg.


Mark O’Riley accepted the 2015 CIM Winnipeg P.R.I.M.E. Award on behalf of The University of Manitoba.

Congratulations to both P.R.I.M.E. Business Award recipients!


CIM P.R.A.I.S.E. Award

The CIM Performance Recognition for Achievement, Innovation, Service & Excellence Award recognizes individuals who have contributed to our successes through their significant contributions to better our branch and our members’ CIM experience. Contributions such as this ensure that the Winnipeg CIM Branch remains the largest and most vibrant branch in Canada.

 This year’s recipients are Deb Daigle, Garry Kalawarny and Luanne Scott (missing).

IMG_0811 IMG_0812

Congratulations to our P.R.A.I.S.E. Award recipients!


Long-Term Service Pins

We would like to thank the following long-term service pin recipients for their continued dedication and commitment to the Canadian Institute of Management:

15 Year Pin: Edward Wright, Todd Trueman

20 Year Pin: Montie Garwood

25 Year Pin: Grant Adolph, Vincent Hykawy, Sharon Bukoski

30 Year Pin: Lynne Gibbings, Vincent Hykawy, Sharon Bukoski

35 Year Pin: Grant Pronishen

50 Year Pin: John Buhlman, George Smith


Professional Manager Designations

The need for a meaningful professional standard for persons managing the services and resources of our economy was recognized as early as 1942, and led to informal discussion involving business, government and academic leaders. During the late 1950’s these discussions developed into inter-disciplinary studies, culminating in 1967 in an official report which recommended the establishment of a “Professional Manager” designation.

The P.Mgr. designation denotes an academic and practical Canadian experience background which will permit business to look at the holders of this designation with reasonable confidence as to their management skills.

Thomas Ritter, Chapter President, Louise Doberstein, Vice President of Membership, along with Steve Lupky, Director of Professional Managers presented the Professional Manager recipients with their parchments.

Congratulations to our newest Professional Managers

 Heather Kozubski and Christine Makichuk!

 IMG_0806 IMG_0807

On behalf of all the CIM Manitoba Chapter Board of Directors, I want to thank all the members and supporters of CIM for all your assistance and help this past year. To everyone who received awards, Congratulations again!


Louise Doberstein, C.I.M.

Vice President of Membership

CIM Manitoba Chapter