Categories for Graduation 2012

CIM Graduation 2012

October 2, 2012

Congratulations to the 46th Graduating Class of the Canadian Institute of Management, Winnipeg Branch.

The ceremonies took place Saturday June 23rd, 2012 at the University of Manitoba; the convocation was followed by a dinner / dance to celebrate the accomplishment of the 50 graduates for the 2012 year.

Dr. Lori Wallace, Dean of Extended Education, with the University of Manitoba greeted this year’s graduates, and provided her words of praise and encouragement as new doors open for the newest C.I.M. members. Heartfelt greetings from the National Branch of C.I.M. were extended by Dr. Matthew Jelavic, the National Vice-President of Education. City of Winnipeg Councilor Mike Pagtakhan a C.I.M. graduate himself also addressed the graduating class, siting both personal and professional anecdotes of how these same paths lead to his success of today. The 2012 Valedictorian Andrew Maitland spoke of the challenges of the commitment required in obtaining the C.I.M. designation over the course of the last four years, but more importantly described the feeling of pride and accomplishment for a job well done by all.

The certificates and honors recognition were presented by Clayton McPherson, President of the Winnipeg Branch. In addition Clayton also presented the Gold, Silver, and Bronze academic awards to the three individuals who excelled in the program achieving the first, second and third highest grade point average. . This year’s recipient of the Gold Award was presented to Cheryl Summerly, the Silver Award was given to Karen Long, and the Bronze Award went to Gary Shewchuk.

After the dinner celebration, entertainment was provided where the entire audience participated in a Family Feud Game. As the teams paired off against one another, the victors of the evening resulted with the Winnipeg Branch Board of Directors taking home the coveted honor. The evening then continued with dancing to the wee hours, culminating a most memorable day for all.

Respectfully submitted
Vice President – Education
Garry Kalawarny, C.I.M.